Women Aren’t That Desperate For A Mate

I was talking to a friend today who had sprained his ankle.  He told me that it made him realize that he needed to find a wife.  Hmm.  I asked if he decided that he needed a wife to take care of him.  He said yes.  I told him that this is difference between men and women. 

A woman would never sprain their ankle and think I need a husband to help me do things since I’m injured.  He tried to clarify but didn’t succeed.   He said, “I’m sure there are women who are homeowners, who take of the yard who would be glad to have a husband to take on those responsibilities.”  I told him that these women who are already doing these things or outsourcing their yard work, aren’t willing to lower their standards to get free help.  Nothing is free.

Then he tells me that he thinks womens’ standards are too high.  I can’t speak for all women, but mine aren’t.  I can’t say there has been a single man who I’ve dumped and thought that I passed on the love of my life.  A few of them have married and that’s nice.  But they weren’t right for me.  My best friend quizzed me on a few and I was able to explain why each wasn’t a good fit for me. 

Everyone is buzzing again about Lori Gottlieb and this whole case for settling for Mr. Good Enough. I understand her points.  Realistically, if women follow her advice, they’ll start to think that their basic needs are too demanding.  As a result, you’ll start dating the undesirables.  Who are the undesirables?  You’ve met them, you’ve gone out with them.  The individuals who are so flawed that you know they will be by themselves for the rest of their lives.  And yes, they’re oblivious to the fact. Undesirables are the men who are attractive, look good on paper, but when you probe, you’ll realize why they are available.  They’re undesirable.

Leave a Reply

