The Worst Kind of Shopping

The easiest shopping trip is when you have nothing in mind.  You’re just randomly looking for pieces that may fit into your wardrobe.  Or random pieces that you purchase to go in a different direction.

Today I went on a shopping trip to complete an outfit.  I’d purchased a random slate grey sequined pencil skirt (with the tiniest sequins known to man).  I have an event next weekend and I decided to build upon the skirt versus purchase a dress I’d been looking at.  Simple, I wanted a short-sleeve pink sweater and some slate grey shoes. 

Which item was the most difficult to find?  The shoes?  Wrong, I found them at price point lower than I could have imagined.  The color.  Perfect.  The sweater was elusive.  I initially went to my favorite stores.  No luck.  Then department stores.  Random stores.  I even went into Chico’s.  I’m in my early 30’s.  I’ll admit that I believed that Chico’s looked like they had cute stuff despite the older clientele they catered to.  I went into that store and saw all that white and gray hair, and circled right back out.  I was in the store for less than 10 seconds.

I went to another mall.  No luck.  Then I went to TJ Maxx.  I walked in and saw the top that I’d been dreaming off.  I initially hoped for something with more umph!  I got it anyway, put all three pieces on and perfection!

For awhile I was wondering if I was going to have to reach out to a few Project Runway contestants and see what they could create for me.  They’d have almost a week versus a day.  And I would solicit several versus one.  Because we all know our favorite designer is subject to throw some crazy out there once in a while.

Leave a Reply

