Ode to Vincent D’Onofrio’s Robert Goren

I love Law and Order: Criminal Intent.  I love Bobby Goren.  I’ve watched the show since the first season.   Sweated it out when it was on the verge of cancellation and then breathed a sigh of relief when it found refuge on USA.

Vincent D’Onofrio’s Goren and Kathryn Erbe’s Eames made the show.  I was bummed when they decided to split the season with another team.  I started to enjoy to the other teams.  But they paled in comparison to Goren and Eames.

I’ve convinced so many people to watch this show over the years, I can’t count.  I’d make people watch the show and then do exaggerated impression of Goren during the show (right next to the tv).  In the first seasons, he used to do a lot exaggerated hand gestures.  So much so that my mom used to refer to him as “big hands”.

I loved the complexity of his character.  He was a student of the world.  He never seemed to come across subject matter that left him at a disadvantage.  I loved his knowledge of the arts.

I’m bummed that Goren and Eames will only appear in the first two episodes.  I’ve devastated that it’s rumored that one of them will be leaving in a body bag.  Either way it’s going to be bad.  If Goren dies, I’ll be sad.  If Eames dies, I’ll be sad because I think this will be the thing that pushes Goren over the edge.  Remember his now deceased schizophrenic mother and his psychopathic father (discovered in more recent years).  He’s been teetering on the verge of crazy.  I really expected him to lose it after his former mentor decided to free him from things that he (the mentor) thought were holding Goren back.  He killed his brother, and his nemesis, the wonderful Olivia d’Abo.  When her character was killed, I was shocked, how could they kill her?   Didn’t they realize how wonderful the episodes were with the two of them?

I respect D’Onofrio’s and Erbe’s decision to leave.  They’ve done a great job over the years.  I like Goldberg’s character, he has a little bit of Goren’s smart craziness.  I’ll have to see how I feel about the new partner.

Leave a Reply

