Being True To Who I Am

This means many things to me.  It means being honest about my strengths and weaknesses.  It also means telling people I was incorrect.  As well as telling others how they’re actions negatively affected me.

Most importantly, being true to who I am means not sitting on my hands when I have something to say.  This leads me down the path where I am having difficult conversations that come from a place of love and concern.  I frame these conversations days in advance, even in my conversational/constructive tone I’m aware that in some instances,  I’ll be met with resistance.  And in rare cases,  a personal attack. 

I had an ex recently contact me.  I think a lot of people have that ex that they allowed to take them through way too much.  You forgive so you can let go of the baggage.  But most importantly, you forgive yourself.  You recognize what led you down that path and you vow to never let that happen again.

My ex sent me texts stating how he felt about me, the good times and a request for dinner.  My response went something like this, “I want to be honest.  A lot of things have happened between us, some not so positive.  I’ve forgiven, most importantly I’ve forgiven myself.  I’m not interested in anything romantic.”

Will I go to dinner?  Yeah, it’ll probably make a nice blog…

Leave a Reply

