To Surf or to Paddleboard?

I’m going to San Diego in less than a month.  I have vague ideas of what I want to do in terms of sightseeing.  Okay, no I don’t.  I’ve looked at things on tourism sights.  I also need to check with my girlfriends who’ve already been there.

The one thing that has been on my mind since we booked the trip, is whether I would take a surfing or paddleboarding lesson.  I’ve always wanted to try surfing.  But I have no coordination.  My fear is that I’d wipe out, hit my head and be unconscious.  But looking at the pictures of paddleboarding, I realize my fate might not be any different.

I saw someone paddleboarding in Fort Lauderdale and it looked sweet.  I forgot to factor in the calm waters in Florida.  I think I’m going to try the surf lesson.  I’ll always think I punked out if I take the paddleboarding lesson instead.

Luckily, no one will be there to witness my mishaps.  I’m travelling with my mother and she’ll be in sessions for a conference.  I’m hoping that I’ll make it back to the hotel in one piece.  Just in case, I’ll give my instructor all my info before the lesson.

You think I exaggerate?  I went snowboarding a few years ago.  By myself.  It was an unlucky trip.  My manager had me fearing I’d be lynched in the mountains.  Everyone was rather friendly, including my flirty, attentive instructor.  He figured out that I was given an overly oiled board.  So when I went down the mountain and felt like I was flying past everyone.  I really was.  The instructor didn’t want to disrupt the class but afterwards he identified the problem.

After the class and in-between runs I got sick.  After driving back in crippling pain, I was diagnosed with IBS shortly afterwards.  I ended my trip despite all the crazy, only because at one point I fell and hit my head really hard on the back of the mountain.  So hard that I realized I’d blacked out.  At that moment, I realized that I needed to go straight home.  I canceled my hotel reservation and drove straight to urgent care, while hoping I’d make it home alive. 

The snowboarding trip is infamous but hasn’t turned me off.  Plus, I looked really hot in my snowboarding pants.  Snowboarding pants are much cooler than ski pants because of the flare at the leg (due to the thickness of the boot).

Yep, surfing it will be.  I’ve already chosen the vendor.  I will not be a punk.

Leave a Reply

