Rock the Bells (DC/MD Version)

I thought it was awesome.  It was my first time attending.  I went primarily to see Tribe Called Quest.  I love Q-Tip. 

The gates opened at 11, we got there around 11:09 due to hiccups.  There was a long line to get in the gate.  Didn’t matter to me (despite the blazing son), I was focused on Tribe.  We found pretty decent seats on the lawn.  We got something to drink.  While I drank my Mountain Dew, I felt cool.  Then it was gone, and I was sweating bullets.  At one point, my best friend asked me if I was okay. I said yes, despite noticing that my thighs looked weird.  How did they look weird, they looked splotchy like sun poisoning.  But I’m crazy, so I hoped it’d go away.  It did.

My best friend started asked me periodically if I was okay.  I said yes and started to wonder if I looked really crazy.  Eventually, she asked if I wanted to get something else to drink, I said yes.  We both did, and then she told me that her body was acting weird and she was having chills (coming and going).  So basically her asking me if I was okay, was her telling me she wasn’t.  I started checking on her throughout the concert afterwards.  And yes, people did pass out due to heat exhaustion. 

First act: Slick Rick, good.
Second act: KRS 1, good.  His set seemed extra long.  I think they factored in time for his standard lectures.
Third act: DJ Premier, good but his set seemed short.  I though his could have been amped up by having him work with an artist he’d worked with in the past.  It seemed to fall flat with him playing Gangstar.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved Gangstar.  I was also disappointed he didn’t play my favorite Gangstar song (feat. Nice & Smooth) – Dwyck.
Fourth act: Supposed to be Lauryn Hill but she was feeling ill.  So Tribe came out after a super long pause.  They came out, they rocked out.  They are the ultimate performers.  I’ve haven’t danced that hard in a long time.  I rapped with them lyric for lyric like my life depended on it.  My best friend had warned me that I was going to act like that when they came out.  I was rocking out to them so hard, my ponytail was constantly swaying.  At one point, I saw a guy next to me smiling at me as if he was feeling whatever I was feeling.  

Q-Tip came out with oversized shorts and no belt.  Towards the end of the set, he took the shorts off and continued to rap in his boxers.  That shit made my damn day.  At one point he asked if we were okay.  I turned to my best friend and said, “The only way this could be better, was if I was up there with him.”  Jarobi and Busta Rhymes came out.  Of course Busta killed it.

Fourth and half act: Lauryn Hill.  She came out.  She did a short set.  She did her songs ten times faster than they normally were.  It seemed like a last-minute decision because her bassist at one point, just stopped playing.  I’m not sure if he couldn’t keep up or wasn’t sure what was going on.  Then Nas came out and they performed together.  At that point, her set seemed more even.  Despite that fact it would be over in a few seconds.

Fifth act: Wu-Tang.  They were good.  But I have to admit, I’ve never been a huge fan.  Wu-Tang came out when I was a senior in high school.  So when my best friend and everyone else was sucking up the Wu, I was spending all my free time with a nut.  I was familiar with the more popular tracks but some of the cult favorites were over my head.

Sixth act: Snoop, Daz and Corrupt, Lady of Rage, and RBX (?) I can’t comment too much on Snoop.  We stayed for a few songs but we were tired.  We were way off schedule.  The wait was so long my best friend was asking me to tell her stories to keep her awake. 

What I saw had me rocking.

If I ever attend Rock the Bells again, I will pack snacks (they let you bring them in) and I will wear a bikini top in lieu of a shirt.  I had on a loose-fitting tank and shorts, but that still was too hot.

I’m sick today, I think it’s a matter of having too much fun in one weekend.  But I’ll take that.  It could have been better if a couple of my other friends could have come along, but there’s always next time.

I’m getting ready to send Rock the Bells an email and tell them of my dream 2011 tour.  As if they’d care…

Leave a Reply

