Relegating People To The Balcony

There was some poem I read years ago that discussed that not everyone deserves a front row seat in the performance called your life.  It rang true for me then and still does so now.

I’ve found that there allowing certain people to have an ‘active’ role in your life creates a toxic situation.  It’s not that you don’t care about these people, it’s just that you have to keep them at distance.  They’re like your ‘dormant’ acquaintances.  You can deal with them from time to time and that’s okay.

I have a few people who I’ll place in this category.  I reached out to one of them yesterday.  I hadn’t spoken to them in months and this person’s well-being had been on my mind for quite some time.  They said they were okay.  I didn’t feel reassured that this was true but I can’t own their issues like I had in the past.  I’ll just keep them in prayer and hope that they find the solace they desire.

Being like my mother is such a burden.  She’s always trying to make the world a better place.  I differ from her in thinking that there is good in everyone.  I’m convinced some people are just a waste of place.

Leave a Reply

