Pledge To Stay Away From The Comments Section of Blogs

I live to read articles online.  My favorites website include Time, Inc., CNN, DListed and Entertainment Weekly.  So a mix of news and crap. 

After I read a blog, I’m often tempted to read the  comments sections.    Sometimes, I just want to get a laugh from someone’s funny point of view.  I’m used to seeing comments I agree with and disagree with.  Those don’t bother me so much, it’s the trolls.  They’re too much.  Just mean-spirited people who live to put hateful comments due to the anonymity of the Internet.

I woke up in the wee hours Monday morning.  I wasn’t motivated enough to log onto my computer, so I opted for my phone which was on the bedside table.  The only story that had been posted within the past few hours was regarding Sean Kingston’s jet ski accident.  I scrolled through the comments and they were pretty horrible.  A lot of comments from posters stating that they hope he dies.  A lot of them.  Granted, it could have been the same person using various usernames, if so they were really dedicated.

I figure that despite the few laughs I’ve gotten from the comments’ section, it’s best for me to abandon this habit.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to squeeze out the laughs from the blog itself (if appropriate).

Leave a Reply

