Desperately Seeking An Adventure Partner

I’m used to doing things by myself.  But certain things seem like it would be better if I was doing it with someone else.    I enjoyed SUP (stand up paddleboarding) and enjoyed the group I was in.  But it was a 3.5 hour drive each way.  I feel like the next time could be even more exciting if I had a partner in crime.

Being selfish, I want to go again on my birthday week.  I thought I had someone locked down but she has to go to AIDS conference.  The other person, the same person who I told my mom I went with the last time and went with me to Miami, can’t go because she’s on-call.  She has to prep organs for transplant.  At least I’m friends with do-gooders despite the lies I tell my mom to make her worry less (since I’m off gallivanting God knows where).

So, I’m at a loss.  I can’t find a soul that who would do it, who can go.  I have another friend but she’s only been swimming a few years.  If she’d been swimming forever, I’d probably feel inclined to ask.

I’m undecided.  Going by myself on my birthday weekend just sounds downright lonely.

Leave a Reply

