My First 10K

I planned to complete my first 10K in April.  A couple of weeks before, things went haywire. I ended up being diagnosed with runner’s diarrhea.  I have IBS, which really hadn’t been an issue for me.  As I began to run longer distances by body started to betray me.  My GI doctor advised me to take a meds an hour before each run.  No luck. 

I called back and his nurse suggested I take anti-diarrheal medication 30 minutes before a run.  I asked if that was safe to do considering I run 4 to 5 times a week.  She said yes.  I figured she didn’t know what in the hell she was talking about.  I felt resigned to shorter runs.

I learned that I can quiet the effects of my diagnosis if I run in the morning, or if I have an early lunch (11:30) and run at 6 p.m.  I managed to eventually run longer distances.  On the day I ran 6 miles, I signed up for the 10K.

The race was yesterday.  I was a ball of nerves.  After I arrived, I walked around and gave myself a pep talk.  I had my GPS watch, so that helped me pace myself and know which mile I was on. 

There were a couple of hills that wanted to take me out but I survived them.  I wanted to finish under an hour.  My time ended up being 1:00:46.  I’m okay with that.  Why ruin an accomplishment with beating yourself up?  I loved that I was able to get this off my checklist. 

Starting in December, I’ll begin  training for my first half-marathon on April 1.

Leave a Reply

