Thanks to the Guy from Heart and Soul magazine

Over three years ago, I was desperate to change jobs.  Desperate.  Right as I was editing my resume and cover letter, things started to shift.  Fannie Mae and Sallie Mae bottomed out.   A few weeks later I went to a large job fair that was part of the Black MBA conference.  There were tons of employers.  Unfortunate for me, most of the employers were looking for new MBA grads.

So taking a break, I decided to use my strengths, don’t focus on the employers looking for general MBAs.  I also have a MHA and had been in the healthcare industry since I finished undergrad.  I received a lot of positive feedback after this shift.

Before I switched up my approach, I went to a table for Heart and Soul magazine.  The guy there looked bored.  He didn’t have a lot of people coming up to his table.  It’s not the most popular magazine for black women.  But I wanted a free magazine.  I threw a resume at the guy, and he looks around (no one was around) and he tells me, things are going to get worse.  If I were you, I’d stay put.  It’s going to get really bad.  By the way, Fannie and Sallie Mae had booths set up.  I joked that only a loser would even seek them out. 

Needless to say, I’d stayed put.  I’ve finishing up another degree that believe it or not, does have marketability.  Health promotion.  Provided that everyone continues to be overweight/obese with multiple co-morbidities, I’m in business.

A couple of nights ago, I watched “Too Big To Fail” very enlightening.  Watching the timeline during the movie, I thought of the Heart and Soul guy.

2 responses to “Thanks to the Guy from Heart and Soul magazine

  1. Well, i guess I’m screwed then…:-(

  2. You’re not screwed. I truly believe that if you’re passionate about what you want to do, research the market, the sky is the limit.

    If you’re not growing as a person or trying to achieve a dream, you’re just existing. Dreams make it worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

